More Books & Movie Adaptations

So I bought more books…because when TBR list got over 400 I realised I didn’t have enough to read right now. *sigh* I like to think of it as good karma, I’m supporting authors and hopefully people will do the same for me one day when I get published.

Justification sorted. Future book purchases approved.

Here are the 7 books I’ve picked up recently, including 3 Penguin Classics which I got from Dymocks in a 3-for-2 deal today. Score!

IMG_3956

  1. The Day of the Triffids by John Wyndham 
  2. In the Winter Dark by Tim Winton
  3. Northanger Abby by Jane Austen
  4. Killing Floor by Lee Child
  5. Octopussy and the Living Daylights by Ian Fleming
  6. The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter
  7. Northern Lights by Philip Pullman

It’s a random bunch of books but I’ve had most of these on my wishlist for a while. I’ve been wanting to read the Lee Child Jack Reacher series for ages. The day I bought Killing Floor I saw a poster for the movie and discovered that Tom Cruise was playing Jack Reacher…so I don’t think I’ll bother with the movie.

No idea why TC was chosen to play a character that is supposed to be tough and intimidating given he’s not exactly known for his physical prowess. I felt somewhat validated that “tom cruise as jack reacher wtf” was the automated google search that came up when I wanted to check if the movie poster had been lying to me. Seems I’m not the only one who thought it a strange choice.

On another note, I must also confess that I’ve never read a Jane Austen novel before…I know, shocking. So I bought Northanger Abby and have downloaded Pride & Prejudice to get me started.

I wanted to share this little piece of gold as well, it’s the card I’m giving my husband on our first wedding anniversary this coming Friday. For someone who aspired to be a romance writer, I’m not very romantic so it seems…but I do love unicorns.

IMG_3954

Winning.

Leave a Reply

