NaNoWriMo – 25k and counting

I hit the halfway mark to my 50,000 word goal for NaNoWriMo today!!! The great news is that I reached 25k on day 12, meaning I’m a few days ahead…the perfect buff to counter the busy weekend ahead.

So far the experience has been great and I’ve learnt a lot about myself, my habits and all the things which I normally allow to get in my way. Considering that ‘in the real world’ I’m the sort of person who plans everything out to the nth degree (ask my husband, I drive him crazy by planning out our weekends to fit the most amount of stuff in), to start NaNo on day 1 with little more than a vague idea of the hero and heroine of my book and get to half way is pretty damn amazing…if I do say so myself.

So far, I’ve found the following things the be really helpful in keeping me on track:

  • Having someone to be accountable to – in my case, this is my husband. He asked me daily what my word count is and pushes me to get an extra 500 words in when he thinks I’m slacking. Sometimes you need that person who’s going to give you a kick up the butt – at least I know I do!
  • Coffee – don’t think this needs much explanation
  • Surrounding myself with books –  I mean this in the literal sense. At my desk I have a stack of books facing me, so whenever I feel like procrastinating I have a visual reminder of my goal
  • Tracking my progress – I do this via the NaNo site and there’s something about seeing the little graph go up and up that spurs me on
  • Find others who are doing NaNo – I read the forums on both the NaNo site and also the Harlequin community where they have a group for NaNo writers. Seeing others progress both inspires and stokes the competitive fire

 

awesome cartoon, frighteningly accurate – source

Best of luck to all other NaNo participants, if you’re doing NaNo and writing romance leave a comment below so I can follow along with your progress 🙂

Leave a Reply

