NanoWriMo – I’m jumping in

Up until I sat down with my muesli this morning I wasn’t doing NanoWriMo. I’d decided that November was far too hectic, too close to Christmas and too ‘allocated’ for me to do NanoWriMo. I had my husband’s birthday party, a major deliverable at work, Spring Racing, several birthday events to attend and a whole bunch more stuff to do instead of trying to crank out 50,000 words this November.

But, as I was munching away, I changed my mind. Why? Call it a stroke of madness, a moment of abandonment or perhaps just a true moment of clarity – what ever sounds better. Long story short, I’ve signed up for NanoWriMo and have started my story with a healthy 1,900+ words.

NanoWriMo (or National Writing Month as it’s more formally known) is an opportunity for people to challenge themselves with a heft 50,000 word writing goal. As someone who works full-time, and most of that time is spent writing, this is quite a challenge. However, I’m going to use it as a way to get myself more in the habit of writing, without over-thinking and generally wigging myself out.

So, I have started – there’s a progress bar on the right-hand side of my blog layout, if you’re interested in following along – and I’m going to give the 50k goal a red-hot go!

If you’re a fellow writer (especially those writing romance or erotica) and you’re also Nano-ing, please feel free to email or add me as a buddy on the NanoWriMo site – I’d love to see what everyone else is working on!

Leave a Reply

