Discussion Tuesday: What was the last book that made you cry?

I recently read a book which brought me to tears. While, I admit to being quite the crier when it comes to movies (or TV commercials with puppies), I don’t often shed a tear over a book. Perhaps it’s because I mostly read books which don’t incite sadness; romance novels always have their HEA’s and mystery/crime novels don’t really offer the tear-jerking experience.

The book that recently caused waterworks was The House in Via Manno by Milena Agus.

It’s not a romance novel, so let’s just say the lack of HEA had something to do with it…although not in the way you might expect. It’s a tiny, little sliver of a book, more of a novella than a novel, and was originally written in Italian.

I think perhaps that fact that it was an ‘Italian’ story (set in Italy, about Italians and originally written in the language) resonated with me and my family heritage. I could practically see my own Nonna walking down the streets it describes, and it might be because my own Nonna is just a little crazy too.

So I’m curious: What was the last book that made you cry?

Leave a Reply

